Finally…After 9 Years of Searching….

           When I began to write my book about the history of the Coca-Cola bottle back in 2003, I had no idea so many variations of the returnable bottle had been used.  I began to search for the bottles I would need to illustrate my book. One that proved to be elusive was the 32 ounce Caffeine Free Coca-Cola bottle. I searched at Bottle Shows, Coca-Cola Club Conventions, Antique Stores, Flea Markets, other collectors, etc. 

      Several years ago I came across a Mr Pibb bottle on eBay for sale. In the background I could make out the 32 ounce Caffeine Free Coca-Cola bottle. I asked the seller if he would be listing the bottle anytime soon. He answered with a ‘No’ and couldn’t figure out how in the world I had even seen the bottle in the background.

I had to go to press with my book without the photo of the 32 ounce Caffeine Free Coca-Cola bottle.  I couldn’t wait any longer…holding up printing for a bottle I might not ever find.

Finally….a few weeks ago I came across not one…but two of them!  And earlier this year I had found the correct screw on cap that is marked ‘CAFFEINE FREE” to go on it!

It amazes me that a bottle that would have came out in 1983 (The year Caffeine Free was introduced by Coca-Cola Company) that it would be a relatively easy bottle to find. I can go to a Bottle Show and find Coca-Cola bottles from the early 1900’s with relative ease, but not something less than 30 years old. I think the ‘newer’ bottles will prove to be more difficult to find than a 1915 Coca-Cola bottle.

Well…..now onto the next bottle on my list to find……

Caffeine Free 32 oz Coca-Cola

Caffeine Free 32 oz Coca-Cola

10 Responses to “Finally…After 9 Years of Searching….”

  1. John Buchholz Says:

    Doug, what a great story. Determination along with a little LUCK pays off.
    John

  2. ferd5 Says:

    Congratulations. Fun to get a missing link.

    • cocacolabottleman Says:

      Ferdinand
      I think half the fun of bottle collecting is the hunt, going to bottle shows, etc. and talkng to folks about the hobby.
      Doug

  3. Steve Says:

    It’s always a great day when you find a tough one that you’ve wanted. I agree that newer bottles are tougher in many cases. I used to throw 70’s and 80’s stuff away, but now I tend
    keep ’em.

    • cocacolabottleman Says:

      Steve
      I used to stay away from the 1970’s and 80’s stuff, but changed my mind several years ago and started collecting those too. My goal was to have an example of every returnable bottle that Coca-Cola was ever available in. It has been interesting collecting the ‘newer’ stuff.
      Doug

  4. Larry Hearn Says:

    I still like the older stuff.Not real active in collecting but do find an occasional piece. Can anyone give me the current value of a 20 inch Christmas coke display bottle? Thanks.

    • cocacolabottleman Says:

      Larry
      The Christmas Display bottle has been reproduced, so value depends on if it is an original or not. The new ones sell for around $65 to $75. An original one sells on average between $200 to $300.
      Doug

Leave a Reply

