Hey…I know that guy!

 Last week I was cruising around eBay checking out some bottles. I was checking out some error bottles and I came across this description:

“The all white ACL Applied Color Label is upside down including the neck section. This is similar to the one discussed in Collector’s Weekly interview with author and collector Doug McCoy in March of this year in which he says his similar bottle is one of his favorites. It is a very rare item and is in nearly pristine condition. This is a great gift for that “hard to buy for” person as almost no one will have the same item in their collection! “

I was very surprised to see my name in the description!  The bottle was a 6 1/2 ounce Coca-Cola bottle with all the ACL applied upside down!  A definite factory ‘Third Shift’ bottle, made by glass makers who were a little bored one night.

I was EVEN more surprised that the bottle sold for $400. A little high I thought but that is eBay, when you get two people in a bidding war.

I am still amazed at where my name has been turning up since I published my book.

 

Leave a Reply

